Mm, Honey.

My oh my it is difficult packing for someone else other than yourself!

It’s my last day in dreaded Milwaukee before I leave for a week and as excited as I am, I’m also a mess. All these last minute things started popping up and I planned way ahead to not let these things interfere on my last day. I thought I’d clean the house, go get my nails done, shower, and then head home for a bit before we leave BUT sigh, do things ever plan out accordingly?

Anywhoo, I am currently scrubbing this house clean and doing some laundry.

Or I was.

I took a break.

A blogging break :)

Let me tell you what I think is so amazing and I should use more often —-> A crockpot.

It seems old fashioned but really though, it is a necessity in the kitchen. All you have to do is throw a bunch of ingredients together into the crockpot and let it cook for 7-8 hours and voila! You have an amazing meal. And during those 7-8 hours what do you do?

Just about anything.

Go to work, clean the house, go out shopping, paint your nails, SLEEP. I don’t know, but you have a lot of time.

Time I wish I had right now :/ Oh and let’s not forget my second video! Enjoy! :)

This video is the actual wedding ceremony itself, called the nikkah and rukhsati. 

Honey Sesame Chicken (crockpot version)

yields 4 servings 

2.5 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts
S&P
1 cup honey
1/2 cup soy sauce
4 tablespoons diced onion
4 tablespoons ketchup
2 tablespoon sesame oil/canola oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes (more for a kick)
4 teaspoons cornstarch dissolved in 6 Tablespoons water

Sesame seeds for garnish
Season both sides of chicken with lightly with salt and pepper, put into crock pot.

In a small bowl, combine honey, soy sauce, onion, ketchup, oil, garlic and pepper flakes. Pour over chicken.

Cook on low for 3-4 hours or on high 1 1/2 – 2 1/2 hours, or just until chicken is cooked through.

Remove chicken from crock pot, leave sauce. Dissolve 4 teaspoons of cornstarch in 6 tablespoons of water and pour into crock pot. Stir to combine with sauce. Replace lid and cook sauce on high for ten more minutes or until slightly thickened.

Cut chicken into bite size pieces, then return to pot and toss with sauce before serving.

Sprinkle with sesame seeds and serve over rice or noodles!

Sooooo goooood.

Just make sure you don’t overdo the cornstarch otherwise it’ll taste pasty eek!

– Aisha

Leave a Reply

