Brown Butter Heaven

Tragedy struck a couple days back.

And I blame the doc. When I tell you about it, you’ll think it’s my fault but it was actually his. So here it goes. I don’t remember why exactly BUT the doc threatened to throw water at me. So thinking I was being clever, I pushed the water bottle towards him and squeezed it. I don’t know why I thought he was not going to react to it because the second he realized I was going to do that, he pushed it towards me and all over my laptop.

See, his fault.

Anyway, after two days of trying to get my laptop to turn on I frantically drove to the nearest apple store and ran in with my arms in the air pleading to save my baby.

Ok maybe not that dramatic but it definitely felt that way in my head! My dad knew what he was doing when he got me this laptop by getting me warranty. I definitely used it up these past three years. And when I got my laptop back yesterday, it was practically BRAND NEW! And just in time because my warranty expires in November. Phew!

I know these random disappearances are bad, but I promise I love my readers way too much to let them hanging! So I’m letting you know in advance (three days? I know, but I didn’t have my laptop!) that I am leaving for my honeymoon this weekend and will be MIA for a week. We’re going to Mexico! Trust me, I’ll have so much to post when I come back!

And even though I got married almost 4 months ago, I’m inviting all of you to join in on the celebrations by sharing my three part wedding highlights these next three days. I love them all, its like I’m reliving the entire experience! Perfect way to jet off to my honeymoon!

This is our Mehndi Highlight. For those that do not know, a Mehndi is a celebration before the wedding where the bride adorns her hands with henna while family and friends celebrate and dance the night away.

STAY TUNED TOMORROW FOR THE NEXT VIDEO! :)

Enough chit chat! I’m going to share something utterly delicious and unbuttoning your pants worthy. I am completely obsessed with Jessica from How Sweet It Is. She’s pure genius and a big reason why I blog. She and I have something in common – we’re in love with brown butter. BROWN BUTTER. I’m drooling.

In solid form, it’s disgusting. But in melted brown goodness, it’s sooooo ghooood. GHOOD.  This recipe is slightly adapted from her recipe!

Brown Butter Parmesan Chicken Pasta

Yields 4 servings

2 lbs boneless chicken breasts cut into chunks

1 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

½ tsp cayenne pepper

1 ½ tbsp canola oil

7 tbsp unsalted butter, cut into cubes

1 medium onion, sliced

1 cup sliced mushrooms

4 garlic cloves, minced

¾ cup chicken broth

½ lb whole wheat pasta (I used penne)

2/3 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese + more for topping

fresh chopped parsley for topping

[if you like spice, get some sriracha! Goes amazingly well with this]

Heat a large skillet over medium heat and add canola oil. Pat chicken dry and season with salt, pepper, and cayenne. Add to skillet, and brown on all sides. It takes about 10 minutes. Remove and set aside in a bowl.

In the same skillet, add ½ tbsp of butter and add sliced onions. Add a pinch of salt and stir occasionally for 15 minutes until onions have caramelized.

While onions are caramelizing, heat a small saucepan over low heat and add 6 tbsp of butter. Whisk Whisk Whisk! Until you see brown bits on the bottom of the pan. Once you do, turn off the heat and whisk for a bit so the brown bits do not burn.

Also, at this time, you can prepare the pasta. Once the onions are done, add another ½ tbsp of butter and add mushrooms. Cook them for 6 minutes and then add onions back into the skillet along with garlic. Cook for about a minute just so that amazing garlic flavor gets into the onions and mushrooms. =)

Increase the heat to medium high and add chicken broth. Let it bubble and cook for 2-3 minutes. Add chicken, pasta, and parmesan cheese. Toss it all.

Turn the heat to low and drizzle the brown butter over top and toss again. Add more cheese and parsley and SERVE with a side of sriracha!

Yum, yum, YHUM.

I want some right now!

– Aisha

Leave a Reply

