Chicken & Black Bean Enchiladas

I had the best left-overs today, they were so yummy!  They were even better hot out of the oven last nite for dinner.  Wait for it…Chicken & Black Bean Enchiladas.  So gooood!

Like everyday, I was preoccupied at work thinking what a I wanted for dinner when I came across this on pinterest for spicy black bean enchiladas and I knew exactly what I was making right after work.  I didn’t have the energy to run to the store after I got home  I took inventory of the things I had in the pantry, which was not enough of anything to make the recipe I had seen earlier so I decided to throw together a bunch of things and I came up with this:

Chicken & Black Bean Enchiladas:

1 cup shredded cooked chicken
1 can black beans
1 cup chopped peppers (I had mini peppers & fresh poblano from the garden)
1 medium chopped onion
1/2 cup corn
1 package flour tortillas
1 can of green chile enchilada sauce*
1 can of red enchilada sauce*
1 teaspoon cumin
Shredded cheese – mexican blend goes well, or your preference
Red pepper flakes – to taste
Salt & Pepper – to taste

*I only had one can of each, it wasn’t intentional, but this is definitely what made the dish so good.

Preheat oven to 350 (unless you make this ahead and plan to bake later).

To a skillet add 2 tablespoons oil, and add the onions, saute about 2 mins and add the peppers,corn, and chicken. Saute until the peppers and onions are soft. Add the cumin, stir and add the green chile enchilada sauce, mixing well. Cook on medium heat until the mixture thickens.

In a casserole dish, pour some red enchilada sauce coating well. Next spoon the mixture into each tortilla, add a handful of cheese, roll up like a burrito, place in the dish, seam-side down. Continue until all the mixture is used up or your run out of tortillas ;) Then pour the remaining sauce over the top of the enchiladas smothering all the tortillas. Cover with foil and place in the oven for 25 mins. Then remove the foil, the dish should be starting to bubble at this point, place back in the oven uncovered for 8-10 mins. Remove from oven and let stand for 5 mins before devouring.

Happy Eating!

~Nazia

Leave a Reply

