Muffins with my Cousin

What a gorgeous fall day!  Today was amazing.  I wish I had planned to do more stuff outside, but unfortunately it was filled with errands and getting ready for the long week ahead.  Excited about the first signs of fall, couple weekends ago, I ordered a pumpkin muffin from Dunkin Donuts to accompany my morning coffee.  I was really excited about it, couldn’t wait to get home and bite into it, but first impression was just ok.  I always get confused and think I’m going to love something if I can’t remember how it tastes, but usually I end up being disappointed.  It’s not that it was bad, it was just too sweet for my taste, and too many raisins.  So today while  grocery shopping I spotted a can of pumpkin and although I haven’t yet tried my hand at anything pumpkin yet, I really wanted.

I instantly thought of these wheat bran muffins my mom loves.  I haven’t made those in a while and I thought combining that recipe and the pumpkin might be closer to the taste I imagined.  My cousin was visiting and assisted as my sous chef.  We started our mission at Whole foods to grab some wheat bran and some whole wheat flour.  Ha, that store is so distracting!  So many things there we forgot what we went there for, 40 mins later we were on our way home.

Pumpkin Wheat Bran Muffins

makes 12
adapted from this recipe.

1 1/2 cups wheat bran
1 cup buttermilk
1 can pumpkin
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
2/3 cup brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon nutmeg or all-spice
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 to 1/2 cup raisins (to taste)
1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Mix together wheat bran and buttermilk; let stand for 10 minutes. In a stand mixer, beat together oil, egg, sugar and vanilla, once combined, add pumpkin, then add buttermilk/bran mixture. Sift together flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt. Add dry ingredients until well mixed. Fold in raisins and walnuts and spoon batter into muffin tin lined with paper baking cups.

Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean.

Perfect for a morning breakfast muffin with a cup of steaming hot coffee.  Thanks Sadia Baji for baking with me =)

Happy Eating!

~Nazia
Leave a Reply

