My Favorite Chili

We have officially entered into Fall.  With the unusual weather this year, its hard to tell what’s we’ll experience this time around but so far, its been pretty chilly!  I don’t mind the chill really, its a chance to wear cute stuff, like boots and hoodies.  let me tell you ,I love a warm hoody! And I day dream of comfort food.  Anything that makes you feel nice and cozy inside.  The pumpkin spice lattes, hot chocolate, beef stews, and chili.  Chili is one of my favorites, I love the deep flavors that mend together and the heat warms you up.  Now there are a lot of chilis out there and I have tried many of them, but my favorite kind is one that is quick and easy.  This is something I like to call my weeknight food, anything that is quick and easy to make I can throw together after work.  It’s not that I don’t like to take my time and cook things from scratch, but I like to reserve those meals for the weekends when I have more time to shop, prep and cook.

This is my version of my favorite quick & easy Chili.

My Favorite Chili 

1 lb Ground beef

1 – medium chopped onion

1 – medium chopped green pepper

1 – 8 oz can diced tomatoes

1 – 8 oz can crushed tomatoes

1 – 16 oz can red kidney beans (I prefer the dark)

1 – packet of McCormick Hot Chili seasoning mix

3 cloves minced garlic (or 1 1/2 tsp of garlic paste)

Sour cream – optional

Shredded cheddar cheese – optional

Salt – to taste
In a big pot, cook the ground beef until browned and all the moisture has evaporated.  Add onions and green peppers and saute until onions are translucent or soft.  Add the seasoning to the pot along with 1/2 cup of water.  Mix well, let the mixture simmer before adding the tomatoes.  Cover and bring the chili to a boil.  Add the beans and an additional 1 1/2 cups of water, slowly stirring the chili.  Reduce heat to medium-low and let chili simmer for 20 – 25 mins, stirring occasionally.  Server with warm rolls or crackers.

NOTE: This tastes delicious right after its prepared, but for the best flavor, cook this way in advance to allow all the flavors to mend together.  Maybe even make it the night before and reheat to server for dinner the next day.

Happy Eating!

~Nazia

Leave a Reply

