Kick butt* Empanadas

Image

So I’m dying.

I’m dying because I worked out after months.

MONTHS.

I hate working out.

HATE!

But after what I’ve been cooking and how uberly lazy I’ve become, I had to. I was pumped walking to the club house. I was pumped as I warmed up. I was pumped when I put on my favorite movie and worked out.

It was when I was done that I wanted to give up … on standing! I almost fell. Luckily, no one saw me stumble. I wanted to come home and devour something greasy and fantastic but we didn’t have anything already made. Anyway, so I jumped for a salad. Sigh.

If only I was as skinny as my sister, who could eat absolutely anything and yes, gain weight, but not be able to go over 100 lbs. UGH. I hate her too!

Ok, so I don’t hate her, I love her. But still. The doc and my sister ate all my cookies the other day. L Now, I’m cookie-less.

I’m also out of delicious recipes. Recipes that are oh so bad for me! Recipes that make be gain ten million pounds but feel oh. So. Good.

Sigh. I need to go through food network and find some recipes to work with!

Till then let me share this amazing recipe with you for Empanadas! Empanadas are stuffed bread or pastry that is baked or fried … kind of like Samosas!

Image

Spicy Chicken Empanadas

2 tbsp vegetable oil

1 medium onion, diced

½ jalapeno (seeded and finely diced)

2 garlic cloves, minced

½ tsp cumin powder

2 chicken breasts (boiled and shredded)

2 tbsp fresh lime juice

¼ cup chopped fresh cilantro leaves

2 cups grated pepper jack cheese

S&P

Prepared pie dough or pastry sheets

1 egg mixed with 1 tbsp water

Vegetable or peanut oil for frying

In a skillet heat oil and add onions, jalapenos, garlic and cumin until it becomes translucent.

In a large bowl combine limejuice, cilantro, and chicken. Add the onion mixture and mix. Then add cheese and season with salt and pepper.

Image

Take the pie dough or pastry sheets and cut into squares. Traditionally, empanadas are shaped as a half circle as the sheets are cut into circles, however, to make things easier, I cut them into squares.

Put 1 tbsp of the mixture into the center of the dough. Brush egg wash across the edges and seal together. Press a fork against the edges gently.

If using pie dough, heat deep fryer to 325 degrees F with oil. Place a few empanadas in the fryer and flip until brown. Remove and drain on paper towels.

If using pastry sheets, preheat oven for 375 degrees. Use egg wash and lightly coat the top of each empanada and pop them into the oven until the crust is golden brown and are puffy.

Serve with your choice of verde!

– Aisha

Leave a Reply

