Pan Seared Yumminess

So how was everyones weekend? Mine was great! First of all, I want to give a shout out to all my family members that read my blog, I love you all! <3

When you start a blog, you don’t think anyone will read it. Then you see the statistics on your page about all the viewers so you know someone is reading it. But when you actually meet your viewers, even if it’s family, it brings a smile on your face. Knowing that a lot of my family and my friends read my blog and are interested in what I make or write makes me incredibly happy!

I must be doing something right!

This weekend was eventful. Some of my family members own a ranch out here in Wisconsin and almost every year they host a get together and everyone comes from near and far to hang out. I’ve missed a couple since I went to school in the Caribbean but this time, I made sure I was there! It was nice seeing everyone after so long and all the kids are so grown up now!

I don’t understand how because I’ve been 20 for the past 4 years …

Anywhoo.

And apparently it was very eventful for Blake Lively and Ryan Renolds! They’re married? Who, what, where, why, when?

I also found out two of my friends are engaged and I knew it would happen! I’m extremely happy for both of them! Congratulations!! :) She asked me to have a sub page on wedding planning but I don’t know. I don’t think that’s going to happen … maybe … should I?

sidenote: Elmo is very jealous of my laptop. He hates it. The second I put my laptop on my lap and start working, he jumps up onto the couch and squishes between me and the laptop until I move it away. And then he adjusts himself and falls asleep or watches tv in a way where I can’t move at all. Totally takes advantage of me!

While I ponder about that idea let me show you what we had for dinner a couple of nights ago.

The first time I ever made fish, I overcooked it. And I decided after that I would NEVER make fish. But sometimes your palate craves more. And I wanted to eat something healthy (clearly, after dinner was ready, it wasn’t so healthy anymore) So this time, I made sure I cooked it properly and let me tell youu..

So flaky … So moist! I gave myself a pat on the back right after I took a bite!

I served it with creamy, oh so delicious mashed potatoes and a side of lemon herb asparagus!

Pan Seared Tilapia with Mashed Potatoes

Serves 2

2 tilapia filets

EVOO (extra virgin olive oil)

½ tsp salt

½ tsp black pepper

½ tsp cayenne powder

½ tsp garlic powder

½ tsp onion powder

¼ cup all purpose flour

1 tbsp melted butter

2-3 large russet potatoes

4-5 tbsp butter

1 cup of heavy whipping cream or half&half

1 tsp garlic powder

S&P to taste

Bring a large pot of water to boil, add salt.

Peel potatoes and cut each potato into 4 pieces (about the same size) Cover pot and allow the potatoes to boil for about 15 minutes.

Place seasoning mix and flour separately in a small shallow dish.

Rinse filets with cold water and pat dry with paper towels. Press filet gently against seasoning mix and shake off excess. Then gently press filet against flour and shake off excess.

Heat evoo in a skillet over medium high heat. Cook the tilapia in the hot oil until the fish flakes easily with a fork, about 4 minutes per side. Brush the melted butter onto the tilapia in the last minute before removing from the skillet.

By now, the potatoes should be ready. Check by poking the potato with a fork. The potato should break easily. Drain the potatoes and place them back in the pot.  Lower the heat and mash with a fork. Add butter, cream, garlic powder, and S&P to taste.

(I usually like to roast a whole garlic head and mash it in my potatoes but garlic powder is a great quick alternative)

I topped the tilapia with a little bit of feta! A yummy and quick meal!

– Aisha

Leave a Reply

