Warm Apple Crisp

Can you feel it, Fall is coming!

I’m so excited, one of my favorite seasons.  I love fall for all the yummies that come with it.  One of my all time favorite fall things to eat is apple crisp.  Warm apple crisp with a scoop of ice cream.

Its pretty simple to make and there are a TON of recipes out there, most that involved a lot of added sugar that I really wanted to avoid.  So after pouring over a bunch of recipes I finally settled on coming up with my own.  Trying to avoid having a huge batch sitting around all weekend tempting me to consume the whole thing I settled on making a small batch in an 8×8 square dish.  The aroma wafting towards me while this was baking in the oven not only had my mouth watering, but I was literally drooling!

You can use any kind of apples you have on hand, mainly Gala or McIntosh are pretty good.  I prefer Granny Smith because of the tartness, the contrast of the sweet/tart just explodes together.

Warm Apple Crisp

makes 3-4 servings

Granny Smith Apples – 2 to 3 medium-sized
Flour (whole wheat or all-purpose) – 1/2 cup
Oats – 1/2 cup (instant oats work best)
Brown Sugar – 2/3 cup
Butter – 1/2 cup (one stick) softened
Cinnamon – 1/2 teaspoon

Preheat the oven to 350°.  Cut the apples into chunks.  Peeled or skin on the apples is your preference.

In another bowl, mix together flour, oats and brown sugar, next cut the butter into the dry mix using 2 forks.  In an 8×8 greased dish, spread the apples.  Top the apples with the flour mixture.  Place in the oven, uncovered, for 30 mins.  Check for doneness and topping should be firm/crunchy to the touch.  Remove from oven and let cool for 10 mins.

Scoop into bowls topped with a scoop vanilla ice cream.

 


Happy Eating!

~Nazia

Leave a Reply

