Churros for the first time!

Back to that awesome house warming party we threw this past weekend.

I made a 2nd dessert of course. I thought really hard about what I should make. And then Giada popped into my head. A few weeks back, I watched a rerun of one of her episodes and she made churros!

CHURROS!

Ok, so I shouldn’t get that excited because the truth of it all is that I’ve never actually tried a churro. I just know that whenever I’ve been to six flags I would smell the cinnamon deliciousness and it would tempt to get one BUT funnel cake always wins. ALWAYS.

I kind of want some now. And I know I’m side tracking but this really bothers me … How is it that some places serve funnel cake WITHOUT ice cream and hot fudge. Its like a crime. Ice cream and hot fudge should never be optional. I went to the zoo with my friends after I moved here and the lady looked at me funny  as if I was asking her for curry powder topping or something. I should do something about it.

Anyway, continuing on with the churros. They were so good! Some were a little bit crunchy than others because I fried them longer so make sure they are out of the oil once they are done. But I loved them and now what I want the next time I go to six flags (along with the funnel cake of course)

Cinnamon Espresso Churros

Cinnamon-Espresso Sugar

½ cup sugar

2 tbsp ground cinnamon

1 tbsp instant espresso powder

Churros

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup water

6 tbsp unsalted butter (at room temperature)

2 tbsp sugar

2 tsp instant espresso powder

½ tsp fine sea salt

2 large eggs beaten

Canola oil for frying

A pastry bag fitted with a large star tip

 

In a small bowl, whisk together the sugar, cinnamon and espresso powder. Set aside.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and dust liberally with flour. Set aside. In a heavy-bottomed saucepan combine the water, butter, sugar, espresso powder, and salt over medium-high heat. Bring the mixture to a boil. Remove the pan from the heat and, using a wooden spoon, stir in the 1 cup of flour all at once. Return the pan to low heat and stir continuously until thick dough forms.

Transfer the dough to a large bowl and slowly add the eggs. Continue to beat until the eggs are fully incorporated and the dough is thick. Transfer the dough to a pastry bag fitted with a large star tip. Pipe the dough onto the prepared baking sheet.

In a large saucepan, pour enough oil to fill the pan about 1/3 of the way. Heat over medium heat. Using a thin metal spatula, transfer the dough, 4 pieces at a time, into the hot oil, and fry until dark-golden and crispy (about 3 minutes). Drain on paper towels and roll in the cinnamon-espresso sugar while still hot. Transfer to a serving platter and serve immediately.

So go *drool* od!

– Aisha :)

3 thoughts on “Churros for the first time!

Leave a Reply

