Bakery-Style Chicken Patties

Wednesday aka Hump Day.  The hardest day to get through.  Today has been the longest.day.ever!  I guess I didn’t REALLY help that this was my first day back at the office after being on vacation for the past 5 days.  Still, it was agonizing.  The upside is that there are only 2 more work days this week and then the weekend!

I mentioned in my last post about all our Eid Day fun that we had planned, it honestly was a very good Eid.  We were blessed to be with family that was in town just for the occasion.  Our first ever Khan Family Eid Day fun went pretty well.  We went to this family fun center, Funway out in Batavia, that has a little something for everyone.  I think mostly everyone came out for the batting cages and the go-kart racing, but the kids had a blast at the arcades!

I think this was the first Ramadan that my 3 yr old will remember for a long time.  For the past 2 days he’s been reminding me that we forgot to have iftaar and I’ve been trying to explain to him that Eid is past so no more Rozas until next year.  Let’s see how many days he keeps it up.  I agree with him though, I already miss iftaar.  One of our family favorites are Patties, puff pastry filled with ground beef or chicken.  We love patties!  They’re pretty simple to make and taste amazing fresh out of the oven, perfect for tea time.  My mom usually makes them in a triangle shape filled with keema (ground beef) but the first time I had chicken patties was in Karachi from Dakkah Sweets.  They were sooooo good, my mouth starts watering just thinking about them!  This is my tried and true recipe for bakery-style chicken patties, give it a try and let me know what you think!

Bakery Style Chicken Patties

makes 12

Puff Pastry Shells – Pepperidge Farm,  there are 6 in a box, you will need 2 boxes.
Chicken Breast – 1/2 lb. poached & shredded
Chicken Bouillon – 1 cube
Onion – 1 small, finely chopped
Red Pepper Flakes – 1/2 teaspoon
Salt & Pepper – to taste
Egg Wash – beaten 1 egg & 1 tbsp water

For Filling:
Heat 1 tbsp of oil in a frying pan and add the onions, saute until soft. Add shredded chicken breast and chicken cube dissolved in warm water, cook until all the water has evaporated so the mixture is moist, not dry.

Preheat the oven according to the package instructions. Arrange the shells in a tray and brush with egg wash. Bake shells according to the package instructions. Remove from oven immediately and with a knife, cut open the top of the shells. Spoon in the chicken mixture and replace the top of the shell, repeat for remaining shells. Return the tray to the oven for an additional 5-7 mins. Remove from the oven and let cool for a few mins. Serve warm with a green chutney or hot & sweet sauce. Perfect for afternoon tea.

Happy Eating!

~Nazia
4 thoughts on “Bakery-Style Chicken Patties

Leave a Reply

